Taiwo Akinkunmi, designer of Nigerian flag honoured in Abuja to collect N500k monthly salary for life

Gbeleyi Abayomi

The designer of the Nigeria flag , Pa. Michael Taiwo Akinkunmi OFR, commonly called “Mr. Flag Man” was on Saturday honoured in Abuja for his contribution to Nigeria.

The highlight of the day was when the elder statesman, who clocked 83 last May, was placed on N500k monthly stipend for life by the Nzenweofor Group. The event which was the maiden edition of the LACLIC GOLDEN HEROES AWARD was held at the Ladi Kwali Hall, Sheraton Hotel Abuja.

Chief Ndubuisi Nzenweofor, the CEO of the Nzenweofor Group, who spoke at the well attended event said the award was put together to honour Nigerians who have laboured to put the country on the world map.

“Just like we sing in the first stanza of our National Anthem that the labour of our heroes past shall never be in vain, this is one of the ways to ensure that the sacrifices they made for this country are not in vain.

“Pa. Akinkunmi is a perfect example of one of the heroes and this is one of the ways to honour them. We have so many of them around the country, dead and alive and we must honour them in their graves,” he said.

According TheNigerian.new, it was gathered that the Nzenweofor Group had paid two months’ salary upfront for Pa. Akinkunmi’s upkeep.

The group also decried the fact that no street in Abuja has been named after the national hero, despite his immense contribution to the country.

Just last week, the Nzenweofor Group also donated 500 bags of rice and N3m cash to wives of late military personnel, under the umbrella of Military Widows Association (MIWA).

Mrs. Veronica Aloko, who is the National President of the group, confirmed receipt of the items.

In attendance at the event were top politicians, entertainers and many Nigerians including minister designate and former Deputy Governor of Plateau State, Dame Pauline Tallen, Alh Danladi Pasali, the National Coordinator Buhari Campaign Organization.

Others were Nollywood stars, Ramsey Noah, Zack Orji, Ejike Asiegbu, Segun Arinze, Francis Ordega and host of others.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *