In Lagos, LG elections fixed for July 22

EKOCITY MAGAZINE – Local Government elections in Lagos will now hold on  Saturday, 22nd July, 2017, while run-off/re-run elections would be conducted on Saturday, 29th July, 2017, the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has announced.

According to the Notice of Election signed and issued by the Chairman of the Commission, Hon. Justice Ayotunde Philips, LASIEC would meet with Political Parties soon and thereafter Election Guidelines would be released by the Commission.

The Notice stated further that political campaigns by political parties would commence on Saturday, 15th April and end on Thursday 20th July, 2017 while collection of nomination forms by political parties would begin on Tuesday 18th April, 2017 and end on Friday, 19th May, 2017. Nomination forms are expected to be submitted to the Commission by Political Parties between Wednesday, 19th April and Monday 22nd May, 2017.

It added that conduct of primary elections by political parties which must be observed by the Commission would take place between Monday, 17th April, and Thursday, 18th May, 2017.

The Notice revealed that there would be a display of the names of nominated candidates and persons nominating them at the headquarters of their Local Governments or Local Council Development Areas (for Chairmanship Candidates) and at the Ward Collation Centres (for Councillorship Candidates) on Friday 26th, May, 2017. The Commission also disclosed that it would embark on the display of the Register of Voters for the elections at Ward Collation Centres on Saturday, 17th June, 2017.

With the release of the Notice of Election by the Commission, it is expected that political activities will increase considerably at the Local Government level of the State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *