Bye-election: INEC declares APC’s Abiru winner of Lagos east senate seat

Former Lagos state commissioner for finance, Tokunbo Abiru, and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Lagos east senatorial bye-election, has been declared winner of the election .

Going by the results announced by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Abiru gathered a total of 89,204 votes while Babatunde Gbadamosi, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, secured 11,257 votes, leaving a votes difference of 77,947 votes.

From the results, Tokunbo Abiru defeated his opponent by a wide margin in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.

Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Kosofe, Shomolu and Ikorodu are the five local government areas in Lagos east.

Below are the official results in all LGAs:


APC: 17,728
PDP: 2,067


APC: 22,213
PDP: 1,826

Ibeju Lekki 

APC: 16,336
PDP: 937


APC: 19,204
PDP: 3,766


APC: 13,723
PDP: 2,661

Abiru, a former chief executive officer of Polaris Bank, had resigned his position to contest the election following the death of Adebayo Osinowo, former occupant olf the office in June.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *