AFCON 2021: Super Eagles draw North African giant Egypt, Sudan, Guinea Bissau


Ahead of the African cup of nation (AFCON) 2021 The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been drawn in group D alongside seven times winner Egypt, Sudan and Guinea-Bissau ahead of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).
The 33rd edition of the biennial competition draw was held at the Yaounde conference centre on Tuesday evening.

The #TotalEnergiesAFCON 2021 official schedule

— #TotalEnergiesAFCON 2021 🏆 (@CAF_Online) August 17, 2021

The African countries were divided into six groups of four teams each with Cameroon, the host nation, having Burkina Faso, Ethiopia and Cape Verde to compete with for a sixth AFCON title.

African no 1 ranked team Senegal, the were drawn in group B alongside Zimbabwe, Guinea and Mali while Algeria, the current champions, were placed in group E alongside Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea and Ivory Coast.

The tournament is expected to hold between January 9 to February 6, 2022, in Cameroon while stadia in Yaoundé, Limbe-Buea, Douala, Bafoussam, and Garoua will serve as venues for the matches.

The foremost African even was supposed to have been held this year but was postponed until early 2022 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

See full groups below:

Group A: Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde
Group B: Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Mali
Group C: Morocco, Ghana, Gabon, Comoros
Group D: Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau
Group E: Algeria, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast
Group F: TunisiaMali, Mauritania, Gambia

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *