Buhari appoints replaces, Onu, Akpabio as Buhari nominates new ministers


Following the resignation of some ministers to contest for the APC presidential primaries, President Muhammadu Buhari has asked the senate to confirm seven new nominees for appointment as ministers.

The president’s request was contained in two letters read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan on the floor of the upper legislative chamber on Tuesday.

The new nominees are:

Henry Ikechukwu (Abia)
Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom)
Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi)
Goodluck Nana Obia (Imo)
Umar Ibrahim Yakub (Kano)
Ademola Adewole Adegorioye (Ondo)
Odo Udi (Rivers)
With the nominations, it means the likes Rotimi Amaechi, Ogbonnaya Onu, Godswill Akpabio and Emeka Nwajiuba will not return, contrary to initial speculation.

Former Lagos Governor, Bola Tinubu, had defeated other aspirants to win the presidential ticket if the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The ministers had resigned in accordance with the provisions of section 84(12) of the electoral act.

Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF) and justice minister; and Pauline Tallen, women affairs minister; who both had governorship and senatorial ambitions respectively, later withdrew their resignations.

Uche Ogah resigned as minister of state for mines and steel development to pursue Abia governorship.

The upper legislative chamber will screen the nominees in the “committee of the whole” on a date yet to be announced.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *