Eguaveon includes Musa, Ighalo, Osimhen in 28-man squad for AFCON 2021


Ahead of the the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), Super Eagles head coach, Augustine Eguavoen, has released a 28- man list which includes Odion Ighalo and Ahmed Musa.

New head coach, Eguavoen has kept faith with most of Gernot Rohr’s men as the Eagles continue their quest to claim a fourth African title in Cameroon when the tournament kicks kkoff on January 9.

The list includes the likes William Troost-Ekong, Maduka Okoye, Francis Uzoho, Kenneth Omeruo, Shehu Abdulahi, and Ola Aina.

Others are Joseph Ayodele-Aribo, Chidera Ejuke, Moses Simon and Samuel Chukwueze.

Oghenekaro Etebo missed out due to injury while Kelechi Nwakali, Emmanuel Dennis and Sodiq Umar return to the fold.

The Super Eagles will square up against Egypt on January 11, after which they will face Sudan and debutants Guinea Bissau.

All invited players, except the UK-based crew, are expected to arrive in camp in Abuja on December 29.

The UK-based players are expected to start arriving on Monday, January 3.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *