IT’S OFFICIAL: Tinubu beats Osinbajo, Amaechi, Lawan to win APC presidential primary


The king wait is over , former Lagos Governor, Bola has been officially declared as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primary election polling 1,271

Coming a distance second position is Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of transportation and top contender, polled 316 votes while Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo got 235 votes.

The “consensus” candidate of the national chairman of the party Abdullahi Adamu , Senate President Ahmad Lawan, chairman, polled 152 votes.

Other contestants like Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Tunde Bakare got zero vote; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba got one vote; David Umahi polled 38 votes; Ogbonnaya Onu got one vote; Yahaya Bello polled 47 votes, and Ben Ayade got 37 votes.

With this result, the former governor of Lagos will now fly the party’s flag in the 2023 presidential election.

Tinubu won the ticket despite stiff opposition.

The special convention of the ruling party kicked off on Tuesday, and will end today.

The primary election was steeped in controversy as the APC national chairman announced Lawan as the consensus presidential candidate.

But the national working committee (NWC) of the party distanced itself from Adamu’s position and aligned with the decision of the northern APC governors who resolved for power shift to the south.

Tinubu will be squaring off against Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Peter Obi of Labour Party, and other candidates in the 2023 presidential election

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *