Lawan makes APC list of senatorial candidates, scales ‘Machina’ hurdle.


After the initial fears, Ahmad Lawan, president of the senate, has been listed as the candidate for the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Yobe north senatorial district for the 2023 elections.

This development is coming hours after Bashir Machina, who won the APC primary for the district, had insisted that he would not step down for the senate president.

The senate president had lost the APC presidential ticket, to eventual winner Bola Ahmed Tinubu despite been announced by Abdullahi Adamu, APC national chairman, as the consensus candidate of the party.

Earlier on Wednesday in an interview on Channels Television, Machina had vowed not withdraw from the senatorial race since he got the votes of delegates in an unopposed election.

“I’m sure he did not plan to go back to the national assembly. That is why he contested for the presidency and lost. This is democracy. The space is free. A certain period of time was given for people to want to contest. Timetables were set, guidelines were produced by the parties, and eventually elections were held,” Machina had said.

However, according to the signed list of candidates seen on Friday, Lawan’s name is the one listed as the party’s candidate for Yobe north.

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *